top of page

Believe ME

Here we are again friends. I am still alive. Life in 2020. That really explains it all. It isn't often that the words just come to me, but when the Lord speaks sometimes it is so healing to the heart, so here it goes.

Believe Me.

Do you ever find yourself in a situation that is just unbelievable? Literally. How is this my life? This can’t be real? If it’s going to happen to anyone it will happen to me? It doesn’t even surprise me anymore. If it weren’t for bad luck I’d have no luck at all.

I think at one time or another we’ve all been in this situation. I remember growing up and listening to my dad preach. One thing that stuck with me is that you are either getting ready to enter a trial, you are in the middle of a trial, or you just saw the finish line and survived the trial, which puts you back at the beginning. Why does it feel like I’m constantly living in the trial. Where is the break? Then along come our friends. They offer their advice. Sometimes it’s even godly advice. “Just pray about it, when I started praying God answered my prayer.” “Get in the scripture. God will give you the answer right there.” Remember Job’s well meaning friends? When I made those comments someone’s face or faces popped up in your mind clear as day. You can even hear their voice saying those words. Intentions are good, but you don’t need their words or intentions. Their words literally enrage you. Your heart is hurt.

When God promised Abraham and Sarah that they would have children, grand children, and great grand children as numerous as the stars in the sky, do you know their response? They laughed. Not the kind of laugh that is joyous and celebratory. No. A laugh like that is the most absurd thing that I have ever heard. That is impossible.

God had a simple response. Believe Me.

When God called Moses to speak to Pharaoh to let His people go, Moses questioned. God’s response? Believe Me.

When Mary was told that she would carry the Son of God she questioned, and God said Believe Me.

But God, I still have questions! What am I suppose to believe? I AM that I AM. I am who I have always been. I am the Alpha and Omega, I am the Great Healer. I AM the Resurrection and the Life. I AM the Bread of Life. I am your Provider. I Am the God who sees you.

In the midst of hurt and hardships and trials and questioning I have tried to train my brain to look back and reflect on who God is and what He has done for me. I appreciate the love, thoughts, and good intentions from well meaning friends. I need their support and sometimes just the hug that they offer, but they don’t know my hurt. They don’t know my heart. They don’t know the tears that have been shed as I prayed in desperation. They don’t know the extreme joy followed by heartache. They don’t know the tears that find their way down my cheek in a moment that should be joyful. God does. God knows my hurt, he knows my heart, he knows exactly what I need.

I know that God is good. Sometimes that is all I know. When I question though, His simple response to me? Believe Me.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page